The Gambler


This year for Christmas I got an iHome system which allows me to play music on my iPhone through speakers at the house. Lately I have been listening to Kenny Rogers the Gambler quite often. (no comments on my musical tastes please) I was struck the other night how some of the lines are relevant to my everyday job.

You got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em,
Know when to walk away and know when to run.

Almost everyday as a marketing professional I make decisions about any number of items. How pages might look, where links will be placed, how to implement the College brand, which video projects to pursue, what goes on the homepage, and who to profile on the web. I find myself constantly thinking about trade-offs. What projects are worth the time? What pages are most relevant and need my help? Which areas and offices are most important to the strategic mission of the College? In a nut shell I need to know when to hold’em and when to fold’em.

Then there are times when I am just not going to “win” and it’s time to just walk away from the table and let the chips fall where they may. However in order to last I also need to know when I am in a situation or project above my pay grade and how to skillfully “run for the hills” or at least not get myself in too much trouble.

But as Kenny Rogers sings:

“every hand is a winner and every hand is a loser”

so it’s my job to make more winners than losers.



One Response to The Gambler

  1. Travis says:

    Very relevant song indeed. Just have to make the best decision possible and run with it.

Leave a Reply

