New Year Resolutions


Here are my higher ed web resolutions for 2010:

  • Focus on ROI – how can we make sure that the time and resources we are putting into projects are creating value for my institutions
  • Keep an eye on mobile – mobile traffic will only increase in 2010 but how much do we do in the mobile world in 2010. I want to at least try a few interesting mobile projects
  • Communicate internally – making sure that our department website and communications are clear and concise is important

What are your resolutions for 2010?

3 Responses to New Year Resolutions

  1. Ron says:

    I’m still deciding, but off the top of my head:

    1. Outcomes are important: Rather than doing work for work’s sake, figure out the impact of what I’m doing and the lasting impact the work has on whatever/whoever I’m doing it for.

    2. Spend less time worrrying: It’s easy to get caught up in trying to plan out a year or more in advance, using variables that don’t really make a lot of sense yet because you don’t know where/how things are going to do. Rather than worrying so much, I’m trying to focus that energy more productively on what I can do now to make stuff happen.

    3. Have something to show for it: I work hard and I need to have a paper/digital trail for it or a way to communicate it and folks to vouch for it. I’m going to continue to work towards that end in the coming year.

  2. These are some really good resolutions and in fact we’ve really focused on being transparent with our large web project with internal stakeholders.

    I probably would say that mine are:

    – Focus on ROI and also build a culture of web analytics
    – Focus more on the end user in design/development
    – Engage more with web visitors through social tools

  3. Good resolutions. Internal communication is at the top of my list.

Leave a Reply

