New baby 2.0


Last night at 6:31 pm I became a dad for the second time. 

Of course that’s big news for the Redfern family but not necessarily interesting for readers of this blog looking for some type of higher ed web insight.  (Read on the next section is how I tie it back together.)

I was actually quite amazed at how people found out about Kaitlyn. Of course I made some phone calls to my wife’s parents, my parents, and brothers. But that was all I had time for so I posted the news on Twitter which also updates my facebook status. Within minutes hundreds of people from cousins to high school buddies had access to the news. The comments and congratulations started to roll in. I was amazed at how fast the news spread.

My Aunt didn’t hear the news with a phone call from her sister but rather from one of her children (my cousin) who saw it on Facebook. How amazing. I didn’t have to wait and send out an email almost certainly forgetting one or more friends. I could post updates and pictures throughout the evening and the rest of the week.

Clearly I had great content of high interest to my audience. Those two things put together and delivered via social networks made for a fun evening.

9 Responses to New baby 2.0

  1. Karlyn says:

    Congratulations Paul! Post some pictures when you can 🙂

  2. Karine Joly says:

    Congratulations! Hope your wife and your baby girl are doing fine.

  3. Ron says:

    Congrats Paul!!

  4. DW says:

    Congratulations, Paul! I hope mom and baby are doing well.

  5. w00t! Congrats to you and the Redfern family. Yes, please post photos and get the kidlet on Twitter ASAP. 😉 I’m sure Kaitlyn’s tweets would be more interesting than some of the blather I read there. (Present company excluded, of course.)

  6. Todd says:

    Congrats! Still waiting for my virtual cigar…

    Go for a third! I did, and I’d like others to suffer a middle child, too. 🙂

  7. Michael says:

    Good Edu-Luck, Paul!

    It´s incredible how the viral effect spreads out any news!

    Cheers
    Michael

  8. Kyle James says:

    Baby 2.0… lol, I think you have been reading to many blog posts and spending to much time on the computer lately buddy. 😉

  9. Paul Redfern says:

    Thank you to everyone who sent along their kind comments. Baby and Mommy are home and doing great. Back to work on Monday for Daddy!

Leave a Reply

