New position, new focus, new goals


I decided to write a blog post today since I felt like it had been a while since I had a chance to write. And it was. My last post was June 30, 2010. I think this gives you some insight into my summer and fall.

This spring we had two retirements in the Office of Communications & Public Relations, and saw an opportunity to restructure the office in a way that would support increased national visibility.  As part of that restructure in addition to my role with web communications I have also taken on the coordination of the College’s marketing efforts.

With any new position a person takes on a new focus and new goals. From July to now I have been working on what that new focus and those new goals should be. The last 6 months has been an amazing experience for me and I am looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead. It has been interesting for me to begin to more fully integrate with the communications team. The word marketing has so many meanings on a college campus. I have had conversations with staff and faculty that range from the color of the fire hydrants to the name and direction of programs and buildings.

The one thing that has been truly energizing in my new role is the opportunity to have an impact on the product. Product of course is one of the 4 P’s of marketing – and in many ways it is the hardest. Building collaborative team oriented relationships with programs is not an easy endeavor. Making recommendations to change the name of a program or tweak the way the program is offered to better meet the needs of the institution and the program is tough and offers a unique challenge. But, it is a challenge that is interesting and makes certain no two days are ever the same.

So what is the future of this blog?

I hope to continue to offer insights and a perspective that adds to the conversation around marketing in higher education. Hopefully I will be able to find the time to do so on a more regular basis as we approach 2011.

 

 

 

5 Responses to New position, new focus, new goals

  1. An integrated marketing team is absolutely critical. When you have your web, marketing, communications and IT teams as disparate groups, you will always encounter difficulties.

    Last year the Web Services unit (that I am the manager of) was moved from IT into the Advancement Office. We work right along side the Marketing folks, which has proven very valuable.

    Good luck in your new role.

  2. Travis says:

    Congrats on the new position and the newly integrated marketing team. The integrated and centralized team saves a lot of time and resources in the end.

    I look forward to reading more about your new endeavors. Good luck!

  3. Will Geiger says:

    I am also looking forward to reading more about your experiences/insights. As someone who is interested in a career within higher education, this blog has certainly been a valuable resource.

    Best of luck.

  4. I echo Mike’s and Travis’s comments about the importance of integrated marketing. Congrats on the new role. I know you’re up to the challenge and will do great things.

  5. susantevans says:

    Damn, I’m really behind. I’m using the last few days of my holiday break to catch up on blog reading. Saw this post – great news for you (and great for Gettysburg too).

    My new role (as of January 2010) also includes marketing … stay in touch; if I can help in any way, I’d be glad to.

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

